Construction abbreviations

Construction abbreviations
zerodocs
What are Construction Abbreviations? 

 

Construction abbreviations are reference standards to industry organizations that are specified in individual CSI 3-part specifications throughout a project manual.  This is a list of abbreviations and acronyms used in other sections in CSI MasterFormat Divisions 02 through 50, commonly specified in SimpleSpecs™ section 01 42 13 – ABBREVIATIONS AND ACRONYMS. 

 

ACRONYM OR ABBREVIATION ENTITY WEBSITE
AA Aluminum Association www.aluminum.org
AAMA American Architectural Manufacturers Association www.aamanet.org
AAADM American Association of Automatic Door Manufacturers www.aaadm.com
AASHTO American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials www.transportation.org
ABAA Air Barrier Association of America www.airbarrier.org
ACI American Concrete Institute www.aci-int.org
AI Asphalt Institute www.asphaltinstitute.org
AISC American Institute of Steel Construction www.aisc.org
AITC American Institute of Timber Construction www.aitc-glulam.org
AMCA Air Movement and Control Association International, Inc. www.amca.org
AISI American Iron and Steel Institute www.steel.org
ANSI American National Standards Institute www.ansi.org
APA Engineered Wood Association                                                  www.apawood.org
ASCC American Society of Concrete Contractors www.ascconline.org
ASCE American Society of Civil Engineers www.asce.org
ASHRAE American Society of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air-Conditioning Engineers www.ashrae.org
ASME American Society of Mechanical Engineers www.asme.org
ASTM ASTM International www.astm.org
AWI Architectural Woodwork Institute www.awinet.org
AWMAC Architectural Woodwork Manufacturers of Canada www.awmac.com
AWS American Welding Society www.aws.org
ASTM ASTM International www.astm.org
BHMA Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association www.buildershardware.com
CDA Copper Development Association www.copper.org
CISCA Ceiling and Interior Systems Construction Association www.cisca.org
CLFMI Chain Link Fence Manufacturers Institute www.chainlinkinfo.org
CRI Carpet and Rug Institute www.carpet-rug.com
CRSI Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute www.crsi.org
CSA Canadian Standards Association www.aamanet.org
CSI Cast Stone Institute www.caststone.org
CSSB Cedar Shingle and Shake Bureau www.cedarbureau.org
CSPC United States Consumer Product Safety Commission www.cpsc.gov
DASMA Door and Access Systems Manufacturers Association International www.dasma.com
EIMA EIFS Industry Manufacturers Association www.eima.com
FM Factory Mutual Insurance Co. www.fmglobal.com
FSC Forest Stewardship Council www.fscus.org
GA Gypsum Association www.gypsum.org
GS Green Seal, Inc. www.greenseal.org
IGMA Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance www.igmaonline.org
ISO International Organization for Standardization www.iso.org
MFMA Maple Flooring Manufacturer’s Association www.maplefloor.org
MPI Master Painters Institute www.mpi.net
MVMA Masonry Veneer Manufacturers Association www.ncma.org
NAAMM National Association of Architectural Metal Manufacturers www.naamm.org
NEMA Association of Electrical and Medical Imaging Equipment Manufacturers www.nema.org
NELMA Northeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association www.nelma.org
NFPA National Fire Protection Association www.nfpa.org
NFRC National Fenestration Rating Council www.nfrc.org
NFSI National Floor Safety Institute www.nfsi.org
NHLA National Hardwood Lumber Association www.nhla.org
NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology www.nist.gov
NLGA National Lumber Grades Authority www.nlga.org
NRCA National Roofing Contractors Association www.nrca.net
NTMA National Terrazzo and Mosaic Association www.ntma.com
NWFA National Wood Flooring Association www.nwfa.org
PCI Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute www.pci.org
PEI Porcelain Enamel Institute www.porcelainenamel.com
PTI Post-Tensioning Institute www.post-tensioning.org
RCSC Research Council on Structural Connections www.boltcouncil.org
RFCI Resilient Floor Covering Institute www.rfci.com
RIS Redwood Inspection Service www.redwoodinspection.com
SCAQMD South Coast Air Quality Management District www.aqmd.gov
SDI Steel Deck Institute www.sdi.org
SDI Steel Door Institute www.steeldoor.org
SFIA Steel Framing Industry Association www.sfia.memberclicks.net
SIPA Structural Insulated Panel Association www.sips.org
SJI Steel Joist Institute www.steeljoist.org
SMACNA Sheet Metal and Air Conditioning Manufacturer’s Association International www.smacna.org
SPIB Southern Pine Inspection Bureau www.spib.org
SPRI Single Ply Roofing Institute www.spri.org
SSMA Steel Stud Manufacturer’s Association www.ssma.com
SSPC Society for Protective Coatings www.sspc.org
SWI Steel Window Institute www.steelwindows.com
TCNA Tile Council of North America www.tileusa.com
TMS The Masonry Society www.masonrysociety.org
TPI Truss Plate Institute www.tpinst.org
TPI Turfgrass Producers International www.turfgrasssod.org
USDOJ United States Department of Justice www.ada.gov
USEPA United States Environmental Protection Agency www.epa.gov
USEPA United States Environmental Protection Agency www.energystar.gov
USGBC U.S. Green Building Council www.usgbc.org
USPS United States Postal Service www.usps.com
WCLIB West Coast Lumber Inspection Bureau www.wclib.org
WDMA Window and Door Manufacturers Association www.wdma.com
WI Woodwork Institute www.woodworkinstitute.com
WRCLA Western Red Cedar Lumber Association www.realcedar.com
WWPA Western Wood Products Association www.wwpa.org

A list of construction abbreviations and acronyms included in a commercial construction project manual.

 

For more on specifications and technical information on building products, join our newsletter or connect with us on LinkedIn now!

Newsletter